The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

43 posts Page 3 of 3
Maybe will try counting calories today.i suppose it's not too hard just limiting the food in the window to 500 cals
Just following up from my last post on this thread. I've been doing Fast 5 for almost 2 weeks. During the week I find the fast period no problem as I'm at work. I work in a lab so food is forbidden which makes it easy not to snack. I gave breakfast up last year shortly after I started 5:2 so that's no problem. I've even found missing lunch everyday fine. Then I usually get in from work about 5:30 which is perfect.

However, boy I find it hard not to eat, eat and eat some more in the 5 hour window. I also find it difficult at weekends, but I guess that's ok. I'll give it another couple of weeks to see how things go and whether I can adjust to this woe without putting weight on. The daft thing is I know what I'm doing wrong and just have to get the old will power ramped up again.
For me I find the daily eating window easier in many ways but that is more to do with flexibility of cooking and the fact that I slept so badly on fast days doing 5:2 because my long-standing insomnia problems were much worse on fast days. The actual not eating bit was not difficult! I lost 23kg doing 5:2 and a further 17kg doing 16:8, both done for about 9 months, so bearing in mind the general slowing of weight loss as I approach target, which is to be expected, I would say that 5:2 and 16:8 were equally effective for me.

Still 100g to go to target according to Libra! I have been below target a few times in the last couple of weeks but the trend is taking a while to reflect that due to the occasional jump back up above target.
You've done INCREDIBLY well Caroline! I'm still waiting for you to update your avatar. The one on the Hang Out is wonderful. I must say you do help to keep me going. I was close to giving up this week...but I think I'm about to get back on track...we'll see :confused: