The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Fasting 16:8; switching to 4:3
15 Jun 2015, 16:13
Hello! Christy here. I'm 39 and trying 4:3. Currently sitting at 158 and would like to reach 140. I've been doing the 16:8 with some success but I now find I'm overeating during my "window" of 8 hours. I'm new to fasting for long periods of time and completed my first fast day on Saturday. It went pretty well except I got a crazy headache by the mid-fast meal. Drank lots of water throughout the day and supplemented with electrolytes, but still had to take an Advil. I've heard the headaches fade as the body gets used to using stored energy, so today is fast #2! I feel really good so far so let's see what happens today! Very excited to gave found like minded people!!
Hi and welcome @Christy39 . Well done on your progress so far. If the headaches continue consider having a salty drink - bouillon, soup, Bovril, marmite or similar - many of us have found this a good way to prevent them. If you are drinking a lot of water you can be in danger of diluting your electrolytes, so replacing them as you are is good.
Thanks for the info! Bullion of soup is a great suggestion! (Beats electrolyte tabs!)