The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Newbie here. Support needed
10 Aug 2015, 14:31
Hi. I'm new to the site but not the idea of fasting. I've been a yo yo Dieter my whole life. I'm also a emotional eater. I am 5ft tall AnD weigh 182lb. I want to lose at least 65lbs.
What type of fasting windows is working for you to lose weight? Any advice and tips are much appreciated.
Re: Newbie here. Support needed
10 Aug 2015, 14:55
Hi SarahM4

Like you I am a newbie aswell and after only being on the site a few days I can tell you that everyone is lovely!!!

I tend to fast on Monday and Thursday and the other day i calorie count - my fitness pal is an excellent app to use when calorie counting. I fasted last week on Thurs and Fri (back to back) and lost two pounds when i weighed myself on Saturday morning.

However this week i am fasting today and intend to fast on Thursday.

Good luck and let us know how you get on. :clover: :heart: :like:
10 Aug 2015, 15:17
Hello @Sarah m4. Welcome to the forum.

I found that a 19 hour fasting window (no calories at all), and then eating in the 5-hour slot, every day, worked for me. No calorie counting at all, just ate so I was full at the end of the 5 hours. Still doing this and have maintained my goal weight, more or less, for over a year.

Some members seem to be losing with 16 hours fasting and an 8 hour eating window. I think they are either calorie counting or more restrained than me!