The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

22 posts Page 1 of 2
beating my sugar addiction
07 Dec 2015, 19:04
I have had a terrible sugar addiction, carb addiction and sweet tooth for basically my whole life. I have tried countless times to quit and I have failed each time. I have reduced some of my sugar intake (I no longer have it in coffee or tea), but dessert is still a huge issue for me.

I have been writing reviews for amazon's site since 2000, so I'm part of their reviewer squad and they sometimes send me free things to review. I got a new book by the head of the Weill Cornell Medical College, the "Change Your Biology Diet". Honestly, most of the book is nothing new, at all. He recommends eating windows. He recommends cutting carbs and sugar. We know all of this stuff.

Except, he recommends protein shakes. He suggests going two weeks, replacing your breakfast and lunch with a protein meal replacement shake. He says if you do this for two weeks, you'll be kick started into more weight loss. He recommends various commercial crap, like Atkins and GNC - full of artificial sweeteners and tasting nasty. Well I decided to kind of sort of follow his advice and try skipping breakfast and having a smoothie at the health food store for lunch. I ordered the one with peanut butter, banana, unsweetened almond milk and hemp protein powder. So for all of last week, I did this (well on Monday I tried the Atkins for breakfast and a protein bar for lunch).

I tried to just eat really healthy things for dinner and see how long I could go without sugar. Oddly enough, I found that I wasn't craving sugar. I decided that if I could make it the whole week without sugar, I could have a dessert on Saturday when we went out to eat. About the closest thing I got to having dessert was three nights I had plain yogurt with a half the amount of jam I used to put on it.