The FastDay Forum

Delighted or Disappointed?

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Lose a kilo,gain a kilo
12 Sep 2013, 01:16
I have been doing this for quite a few months now,started with 5/2 then decided to do 4/3
The good news is I lost three kilos ,and I had been struggling for years unsuccessfully to lose these few kilos.then I couldn't fast but did 16/8 for a few months and maintained easily
Recently I have gone back to fasting BUT no matter what I do I can not lose any more weight
I have checked my calories on fast and nonfast days and I eat around 500 and 1200
So no problem there.i excersise every day ,I drink water ,I seem to be doing all the right things ..
All I can think is that this is my weight,BMI of 20.3 but would love to be under 20
This week I have started eating a light breakfast again,given up 16/8 and am really enjoying that
Can quite happily skip lunch.
Feel like giving this all up
Not sure how to eat anymore
The other good thing is ,I have totally lost any desire to eat junk food
Re: Lose a kilo,gain a kilo
12 Sep 2013, 02:02
You mean that you are eating 1200 on feast day? So if you are doing 5:2, you average 1000 calories a day, even less if you are doing 4:3.

Or you are eating more than you think, or your metabolism is really in trouble. Have you seen your dr? Because that level of calories is really not healthy.
12 Sep 2013, 02:54
Why are you restricting your calories so severely? You're probably just slowed your metabolism to a crawl so that it would learn to live in starvation mode.

http://iifym.com/tdee-calculator/

Figure out what your TDEE is using that calculator. That's the amount of calories you should be eating on a feast day.
12 Sep 2013, 06:49
Sounds more like a temporary dieting effort than 5:2 to me. Why do you want to be under BMI 20?
12 Sep 2013, 07:08