The FastDay Forum

5:2 Cookery Discussion, Tips & Ideas

13 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all

I'm a newbie so I hope nobody minds me starting a thread! So - here's the dilemma. One week a month I work away from home and stay in a hotel for that time. This is a real struggle on a fast day because hotel menus don't have calorie counts (so I avoid eating in), I obviously can't cook and so am restricted to buying cold, pre-prepared foods.

I'm sure I can't be the only one in this position, so I thought perhaps it may be useful to gather some wisdom from fellow business travellers on what the best buys are for pre-prepared 'fast day friendly' meals.

The rules are that they must be:

Commonly available
    Needing no preparation
    Do not need heating
    As healthy as possible (no 'bag of crisps + Mars Bar')

So far I've discovered:

M&S fish suishi collection (240gm) - 295
M&S King Prawn & Crunchy Citrus Salad pack - 135
M&S Classic Fruit Salad (185gm) - 74
Meal total: 504

M&S Hot Smoked Salmon & Potato Salad (340gm) - 240
Marks & Spencer - Sliced Mexican Chilli Chicken (130gm) - 169
Medium Apple - 72
Meal total: 481
Food Doctor brand sells healthy version of pot noodles using eg quinoa dnd bulgar also Quorn do something similar both around 350cals and available in big Tesco's and probably other supermarkets I imagine
actually the quorn one you need to be able to heat it but the food doctor one you just need hot water which I'm sure all hotels will provide. Wholegrain cous cous would also be ideal as you can just use the same amount of hot water as you do cous cous add a pre-made mix of spices/herbs/seasoning and/or soy sauce from home and voila!
Trudie wrote: Food Doctor brand sells healthy version of pot noodles using eg quinoa dnd bulgar also Quorn do something similar both around 350cals and available in big Tesco's and probably other supermarkets I imagine

Thanks! Those look good:

Food Doctor
BULGAR WHEAT & QUINOA POT with asparagus, leek & mint - 254 cals