The FastDay Forum

Forum News & Announcements

3 posts Page 1 of 1
Well, I'm British and living in NY and started the 5:2 four weeks ago. I've lost more than 7 pounds so far, and feel fantastic in general. For background, I'm a mum over 40 and have a deficient thyroid, which has made losing weight extremely difficult (for eg. walking 3 miles a day every day for a year helped me to shed not an ounce). On the 5:2, the weight's come off without resistance. I have been wearing a FitBit for a few months now and so I make sure I walk 5 miles every day; I also bike, play tennis and lift weights on occasion. I'd say between days 1 and 4 I experienced the odd headache, felt quite cold on occasion, and wasn't confident the feelings of occasional hunger would be ignorable. However, those sensations have mostly passed, and to avoid headaches I need to drink lots of water through the day (this works well), and I now actually look forward to the fast days. I find the careful thought over what to eat on the fast days has also made me more careful about the non-fast days. That is, I'm squeezing lots more veg into our meals and portions have gotten smaller (and I use small, pretty dishes to help with this effort.). Afraid I haven't noticed anything odd with my monthly cycle, so can't help you there. All in all, I couldn't be more pleased or feel better, and can't wait to see the results of my bloodwork in a few months (had been borderline prediabetic and my cholesterol figures used to worry my doctor). Having lost more than 6% of my weight, I think the doc will be pleased. Sorry I haven't got anything rotten to add as a female 5:2er!