The FastDay Forum

Fasting with Medical Conditions

8 posts Page 1 of 1
5:2 and Decreasing Thyroid Meds
09 Mar 2014, 14:55
I have been fasting since October 2013 and after routine blood work my doctor has reduced my thyroid meds. I see that this has happened to a few people on this site and was wondering if the lower dose is going to effect my weight loss and make it even harder to lose weight. Right now I am averaging .5 lbs. a week and quite happy with that. Just wondering what experiences others have had when their thyroid meds were lowered.
I began 5:2 a year ago. I had my thyroid checked in Feb last year and in Feb this year and my 125mcg levothyroxine has not been changed. (Lots of other things changed though!)
I was on 125mg (thyroid removed) of meds until Jan when I had my routine blood test. My thyroid result came back a bit high so it was reduced to 100mg and doc thinks it will need reducing again.

Problem is, it takes 8 weeks for the dosage to kick in, so prob be little while until I am stable. Next blood test is in a couple of weeks.

Blood test was right on reaching maintenance so I haven't fasted since mid Jan as I kept loosing too much (fasts & maintaining). I am about 4-5 pounds under target currently but sitting it out until I can return to fasting for maintenance ! I tried to eat a bit more but my system didn't like it and don't want my body to get used to 'more food' :wink:

Weight is stable at this lower target, no violent swings or anything. :wink: Dosage is weight related which is something I didn't know.

I can't quite answer your question but suggest you have blood tests along your journey to monitor it :like:
It sounds like the lower dose hasn't been to drastic for you then. Sounds like it may level out and not cause too much problems. Thank you as you have given me hope that I can continue to lose.
I'll report back once I level out and re introduce the fasts :)