The FastDay Forum

Fasting with Medical Conditions

5 posts Page 1 of 1
I KNEW IT!!!
28 Apr 2013, 09:43
Sorry - this isn't strictly about 5:2 but I know many forum members have thyroid problems and I saw this article on my thyroid support forum:

http://www.thyroidchange.org/5/post/201 ... ssion.html

They state : "The article also finds that patients taking thyroxine had DOUBLE the risk of non-RA arthritis." So my GP and the NHS Endocrinologist, who virtually laughed me out of their surgeries when I said I was convinced that that Hashimoto's thyroiditis was just the beginning of all my other 'itis' problems (agonising joint pain for starters), and that taking Thyroxine (the pharmaceutical cheap drug of choice) as replacement therapy was making things worse, are indeed the dangerous numbskulls I thought they were!

Apologies for the rant but the pills I have been swallowing for the past 30 years are responsible for the current appalling state of my health.

Furious and heartbroken but even more determined to take control and follow what I instinctively know to be right for me.
Re: I KNEW IT!!!
28 Apr 2013, 10:52
Is the problem thyroxine, or not enough thyroxine?
The hypothyroid patients were considered "adequately treated on thyroxine" and their results were compared to the answers of "healthy individuals."

Is "adequately treated on thyroxine" really adequate? Too many people treated for hypothyroidism are given enough thyroxine to bring their blood teat results back into the normal range, but not enough to deal with the symptoms of hypothyroidism.

Don't worry about the rant. Apparently it is a symptom of hypothyroidism... or being treated for hypothyroidism... I can't remember which.
28 Apr 2013, 16:14