The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Fasting while studying...
26 Jul 2015, 19:13
Hi all

I have dabbled in 5:2 in the past, and I plan to start 4:3 tomorrow. I eat fish, but not meat and generally eat quite healthily, just too much!

The time has come where I just have to do something about the extra weight I have put on over the last 3 or so years of study due to too many snacks and too little exercise. I'm a full time student, in the final year of writing up my PhD. This ties me to the desk for hours every day :geek: I do get up and move about, my Jawbone reminds me if I spend longer than 30 mins sitting, but it's just not enough. I used to run for fitness, but I have a dodgy knee now, so that's out. I have a 'strider' in my living room, which is great, I can use that whatever the weather. I do 15 mins of yoga every morning to help keep my back flexible. I have a dog, who has not had enough walks recently, so I plan to fit in a 20 minute walk every day with her.

I work on Mondays, and have often fasted on that work day, so I know I can do that. Where I think I will struggle is on days when I am at home and studying. It's all too easy to nip down to the kitchen when I get stuck with writing... So I'm hoping for some support, tips and ideas here!