The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

5 posts Page 1 of 1
5:2 for a shift worker
24 Sep 2013, 23:18
Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie and quite intertested in this concept after watching Dr Molsley's program. I have also bought the book and made a start into it.

I work a 12hr shift pattern that is a mix between days and nights. I have a question regarding this that I hope someone can answer.

If I have breakfast at say 4-5am before the end of my last night shift then consume only 600 calories between then and breakfast time the next day say 8-9am does that count as a fast day. This would be 600cals in a 28hr period. With 200 cals just before it started.

I don't have much to lose - My weight flucuates between 12.5 - 13 stone. 12st 7lbs just now. Target is about 11st 7lbs so a stone to lose. I did this last year with cutting down to 1500 cals per day and some gym time. All went back on with the summer hols/bbqs and vino. Fancy doing something more sustainable this time that still allows for some vices. McDs and Beer occasionally :smile:
Re: 5:2 for a shift worker
25 Sep 2013, 02:52
Welcome to the forum Marco! The eating program you are discribing seems to be just a 24 hour fast including fast calories, which means for the most part you are only skipping one meal. I can't comment on shift work but I do think that you can find a better way to restrict calories for a 36 hour period and have better results. This is not a fast weight loss method but a sustainable and long term one.
25 Sep 2013, 20:52
Hi marco and welcome!

I would suggest that you start your fast day from when you wake up in the afternoon, have your 600 calories between then and when you go to bed the following morning and then eat normally when you get up later that day. That should give you around 36 hours with just 600 calories which is what you want to be aiming for.

Let us know how you get on! :)
26 Sep 2013, 14:23
Thanks to you both I get the 36hrs thing now.