The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

10 posts Page 1 of 1
Anyone have anxiety?
13 Aug 2015, 13:19
Hi Everyone!
I'm new to fasting but have had anxiety for about 5 - 8 years now. Mostly these days my concern (before I started fasting) was that I would have such a severe anxiety attack that I would make myself pass out. Of course this isn't life threatening unless I'm driving so, in the car is where I get most of my anxiety. But once I have it, it tends to spill out in other areas of my life as well.

I've noticed so far (unfortunately) that fasting has made it worse. Because of course, limiting food intake by such a degree increases the possibility of passing out from not fueling your body. Well at least that happened to a friend of mine (she was not fasting but just had not eaten in 5 hours). So it's hard for me to overcome the thought that I might pass out during one of my fast days.

As a result, I'm nervous to continue, as I was doing well with my anxiety before I started this. Anyone else have this problem and/or have some insight about anxiety and fasting?
Re: Anyone have anxiety?
13 Aug 2015, 14:07
Hi @Carrie19 Welcome to the Forum.

I don't have anxiety, but it does occur to me that it might be a good idea to consult with your doctor and/or therapist before embarking/continuing on a program that exacerbates your condition. You probably could use a little more support from them during this adjustment phase.

Best of luck :clover: :clover: Let us know what's happening with you.
13 Aug 2015, 14:59
I do have anxiety, and I haven't noticed fasting made it worse.

I can tell you that a normal, healthy person should NOT pass out after 5 hours without food. I hope your friend visits a doctor and has a full physical. That's not normal or healthy.