The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

27 posts Page 1 of 2
Calories in versus calories out
15 Aug 2013, 12:42
I have long held the belief that food consumption is like a balance scale....on one hand you have the calories you eat, on the other you have the calories burned, either from daily living / and or exercising. Therefor if you burn more than you consume, you lose weight.
I've been very interested in all the posts on here that say you don't have to exercise to lose weight, in fact, that too much exercise can actually slow weight loss.
What are people's thoughts on this please.
I struggle to move about a lot due to multiple back operations and would be mightily reassurred if , in fact, I don't need to feel guilty for not exercising
Looking forward to your replies
Lorna
Hi Lornameg, I'm no expert, but just from my own experience I do agree that weight loss has more to do with what you put in your mouth than how much you burn (unless you are a SERIOUS athlete training for hours a day). That is one of the many reasons I think 5:2 makes so much sense - it focuses on calories taken in over the course of a week and the math makes sense.

That said - I think exercise of some kind, or any kind of movement that you are able to do, is a very very important thing for overall health, muscle tone, and well being if you can do it with a doctor's approval. Our bodies were designed to move, and although it is not necessary to hit the gym 5 days a week or train for a marathon, finding an activity you enjoy and can do is beneficial to your mind and body.
PS I'd like to try this - Tai chi. Anyone do this? I'm on vacation this week so maybe will try it out on the beach!

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/tai-chi/SA00087
That link looks really good, thanks. I live in the countryside in France, so it may not be easy to find a class, but I'll google it and see.