The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

12 posts Page 1 of 1
OK strictly speaking I am not a complete newbie, as I did a version of the fast diet for a while about 18 months ago. I am starting again, and while I am not finding the fasting too hard, I think I know what did me in last time.

I think I wasn't monitoring enough. And I allowed myself to let my old thinking patterns dominate my eating on feast days. It really did become a feast. I have read round the forum a bit and the general advice seems to be to stay under TDEE on feast days, which for me is about 1900 calories. I have enjoyed the process of NOT thinking, stressing and worrying about what I eat on feast days, but I think this was my downfall as I gradually piled in empty calories in sugar and alcohol on those days.

I am trying to stick to a 2 day weekend, with only treats on Saturday and Sunday. But I've got this lifelong inner voice that goes 'nooooo, you can't tell me what to eat; I have to have whatever I want, or else I'll SULK. Go oooooooonnnnnn. Have it. You know you want to. Just one, or five, or twenty, won't hurt. After all, you'll be fasting tomorrow, won't you?"

It hasn't kicked in yet. Mostly, so far about 5 fasts in, I have found myself moderating somewhat on the days in between fasts. But I know, later this week when I am properly premenstrual, the bread and cake will be calling and the Inner Whinge will be full volume.

I can't be alone in battling it, so am wondering how others cope?
You can use the "I'll have it tomorrow..." mantra, then if you really want it you can have it on the next day. It does work.

The gremlins go away once the novelty wears off but that can take a while. I still need some environmental controls too. So if I'm feeling "cravy", I get my OH to hide the chocolate.