The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

25 posts Page 1 of 2
Eating habits on non-fast days
19 Aug 2013, 11:42
Hi Danalu here,

I am new to 5:2. My eating habits have been thoughtless and reckless my whole life. I overeat then try to exercise the excess off. But now I am in my 40s and the kilos have slowly crept on, year by year, and its getting harder and harder to exercise them off. I am now 20 kilos or so overweight.

I have always heard the saying "change your eating habits to lose weight and maintain a low weight". In other word, change yourself to eat smaller portions, eat more fruit & veg, etc.

I am curious to hear people's experiences with changing eating habits. Is your way of eating different now that you are on 5:2? How does your eating go on post-fast or non-fast days? Especially weekends? Do you feel it's necessary to actually 'change habits' or is that what fasting is all about? I.e., you don't/ shouldn't need to.

I think the book says that on post-fast/non-fast days you can eat moderately but don't overdue it. Eat normally but don't voraciously overeat... And also that the longer you do 5:2, the less you will feel inclined to binge. I haven't yet felt this transformation happen. Have you?

I am curious to understand if people's eating habits are actually changing - or not?

Danalu :?:
Unfortunately, eating normally for me is to over eat. And drink. Possibly excessively!! 5 2 has not changed that yet, and I have followed the WOL for over 5 months. That said, my weight loss has ground to a bit of a halt lately so I am thinking about changing something on non fast days... watch this space lol.
Hi Danalu
Firstly, welcome to the 5:2 club. My partner and I have been on this for about 4 months now and are feeling so much better for our weight loss.