The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

7 posts Page 1 of 1
My whole adult life has revolved around what I'm not allowed to eat and feeling guilty when I eat it. Now it's really bizarre that MFP is telling me I can have 1750 Kcals a day. After my planned dinner I am still going to have 500 left but because I have had a packet of Monster Munch and a Twix caramel slice (both of which I have included), I feel like I have ruined everything and been really naughty! I think these Feast Days are going to take some getting used to as I don't want to be counting every single kcal that goes into my mouth but I have been aware of them for so many years (how can we be so aware yet still end up so fat?! Lol!) it seems scary to stop. :confused:
I know! Those of us who have been on some form of diet most of our adult lives I think feel this way. I have been doing 5:2 for about 6 months and I think my favorite thing about it is the relief of knowing I can actually relax and quit thinking about calories 5 days a week. I can enjoy eating out and cooking again because food is not the enemy! Good luck
It's crazy, huh?

First off, eating is a part of life. You are allowed to eat! You're even allowed to eat a sugary treat here and that as part of a nutritious diet, especially if you're counting/tracking your calorie count. If I eat all my veggies, I get my dessert! LOL Even on fast days I allow myself a small piece of dark chocolate for between 25 and 60 calories.

One key to eating on feed days: eat mindfully. choose mostly nutritious food, eat slowly and stop when satisfied, not stuffed. You are allowed to eat treats, just not all treats all day long! :-) If you need to put limits on it, say 1 a day, x "junk" calories a day or "only after I've eaten my veggies"
:smile: Luckily I love veg so will always make sure I get my pudding afterwards!