The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

12 posts Page 1 of 1
Is this normal for fast days?!
10 Feb 2014, 20:27
Have noticed that last time I fasted (Thursday) and today, I keep getting random bouts of intense shivering, I've got 3 layers and the heating on atm so I'm not cold, lol,

Is this a normal thing on fast days and will it pass, as it's getting irritating now?! lol
Hiya x i often feel cold on fast days and have heard others say the same,but intense shivering? Not so sure...could you be coming down with a bug?
Hope someone comes along soon and give you more advice..in the meantime, make hot drinks and have a hot meal when its your meal time x
I hope i'm not coming down with something, just got over a cold! lol, I shall have a hot lemon and go to bed i think, and fingers crossed i feel better in the morning!
:heart: Hi @DragonsHeart I've been doing this WOL for 9 months and it would seen cold is a side effect but it was snowing here this time last year and only since xmas have I noticed it and its quite bad almost painful
on my hands and feet. :heart:
Hi @DragonsHeart

I am cold every fast day, it's 30 degrees in Melbourne today and I have goose bumps and am wrapped in my pashmina, tights and boots on.

I think it's a side effect but the shivering is a bit more intense than what I experience...
I had this quite a bit last year while fasting -- and my thyroid levels were too low.

I'm inclined to think that since cold intolerance is a side effect of low thyroid levels, that this is why I had so much trouble.

FWIW my thyroid levels have been normal since December. Despite the "polar vortex" and days where the temperature didn't go above 0 Farenheit, I haven't been as cold this year as I was last year. I think we only had two days where it went above freezing at all in the past month!