The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

7 posts Page 1 of 1
My friends are amazing
17 Jun 2015, 08:09
We've had a few threads about dealing with negative comments, or how insensitive people can be. I thought I'd start one about amazing and supportive friends.

I've been really lucky in that I've not had much negativity about this diet or my weight loss. I get the occasional "is it sustainable?" to which I answer "I've been doing it for over 2 years, so yeah", but that's about as negative as it's gotten. Or maybe a "why don't you just cut calories a bit every day?" to which I answer "I'd rather be miserable half of the time rather than all of the time" or " that didn't work for me." Instead, my friends and family have been very complimentary about my weight loss and very supportive of my continued fasting to maintain weight loss. Friends often ask "Is it a low/light day?" or "Is it a cheat day?" One in particular always goes on about how impressed he is that I've managed to keep the weight off when so many have failed.

I've had quite a few ask about the diet, though I'm not sure it's worked for anyone or if they've been able to stick with it. They don't ask for advice, and I prefer not to bug them. It's such a sensitive topic. My copy of the book has made the rounds. I think they know they can come to me if they want to.

Anyway, have others had positive experiences like this?
Re: My friends are amazing
17 Jun 2015, 08:42
MaryAnn wrote: We've had a few threads about dealing with negative comments, or how insensitive people can be. I thought I'd start one about amazing and supportive friends.