The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

31 posts Page 1 of 3
I started this WOE in mid-August and it is working for me in the sense that I am losing weight, slowly but I feel really good about it. My fast days started easily and for a few weeks not so easy but now they are as smooth as can be.
My biggest issue are my non-fast days, I tend to eat way too many carbs! I feel like 80% of my calories are carbs, really! And I mean mainly grains, not even fruit. Now, if I plan my meals I tend to eat a more balanced diet but if not, I just eat any carb that dares to be in front of me. And, I looooove to bake :confused:
I don't want to completely give up carbs, I really don't but I wish I could eat less of them and more of the healthy stuff :frown:
Iztla, I share your pain and your guilty secret! I too am a carboholic, there I said out loud!
I am a ferocious baker, especially when I am down, everyone knows as I produce bread, cakes, biscuits!! My weight loss is also glacial but I am hard pressed to give up naughty carbs completely as I love them too much. What is life without beautiful sourdough?
I skip breakfast these days which reduces my car intake and I am generally not hungry then, but it is tricky as hubby loves rice, bread, pasta and wants to consume them at every meal, as do I. A conundrum!!
I'm a carb addict too :oops: there's only one thing that works for me and that's complete abstinence :starving: the good news is that the longer I go without, the less and less I want/miss them. The bad news is that it only takes a small amount for me to be right back there. It's alright people throwing the word moderation around, but me+carbs+moderation do NOT go hand in hand :curse: going without feels like deprivation at first, but after a while, when the cravings are gone and I start feeling healthier and losing weight, it's worth it! plus I'm more in control of my appetite :victory: