The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

6 posts Page 1 of 1
Shift Worker advice please
28 Mar 2013, 21:42
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the 5:2, but 3 weeks in and I'm feeling this is already part of my life. Not got lots to lose and am hugely into my fitness anyway (weights, spinning, other classes), so fingers crossed for some good extra health benefits.

Just a couple of questions on how to manage it from any fellow shift workers out there please. I'm a paramedic working 12+ hour shifts, although part-time, 2-3 shifts a week. Up to now I'm a bit nervous of fasting whilst at work, I'm usually one to keep my food and drink intake up throughout, as the shifts can obviously be demanding and the hours long (protein shakes, nuts and seeds, soup, toast etc are my staples to keep me going, with the odd treat too). But maybe that will change with time and confidence and I'll see me fasting at work, not sure.

But how to manage fasting round say 3 consecutive nightshifts which just completely mess up your whole system and whole patterns anyway?

Any advice welcome, particularly those in similar situations....
Hugs all xxx
Re: Shift Worker advice please
29 Mar 2013, 10:22
Hi LiveLoveLaughEms and welcome to the forum!

Seems like you are off to a very good start and all your exercise should go perfectly with 5:2. The fasting does get easier as your body adapts (I think because it gets better at starting to burn fat instead of / as well as glycogen), so combining fasting with work might get easier too.

But I am not a shift worker myself so I can't really advise. I suggest you do a search for:
shift work
in the google custom search box at the bottom of the left-hand menu, this throws up quite a few posts about this.

Hope you stick around here even - given your work pattern - at odd times!
30 Mar 2013, 08:26