The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

11 posts Page 1 of 1
Changing appetite and tastes?
07 Apr 2013, 16:05
I've been doing 5:2 for almost 3 months now and I've found it interesting how my tastes have changed. I'm interested to hear if anyone else has experienced similar.

1) I have stopped taking sugar in my coffee altogether. I always had to have two sugar in white coffee, now I can't stomach it.
2) I am craving more healthy food and enjoying healthy food more.
3) Very sweet or very fatty foods makes me feel a bit nauseous. I never used to understand how people could say something was too rich? I could have lived on creamy, cheesey or chocolately things, now not so much!

Earlier today I had a very rich, heavy lunch (nachos and all the trimmings and full fat coke)I ate less than I used to and in all honesty I still feel sick now. What I need to do is stop chosing thse foods altogether now because I don't enjoy them like I used to, they're not doing me any good and it's just not worth it. It is just the habit I need to break now, my OH made them, I could have said no and eaten something healthier but I didn't, just because they were there....
I think one of the really good things about 5:2 is it has re-introduced me to the pleasure of eating! Sounds ridiculous but instead of emphasising how terrible so much of the food around me is, it has sort of made me more appreciative of a food in general. I am so enraptured with eating an apple when I am truly hungry that I don't need a bigger sugar hit than that! When you are properly hungry all sorts of foods taste wonderful, you appreciate the texture, aroma etc and as a result don't seem to need to eat and eat to get some sort of satisfaction. I have chocoholic moments - eat some but not loads and I don't really fixate about it. Isn't that what naturally skinny people do? It's magic!

:grin:
I've only been on 5:2 for 4 weeks now but I'm noticing a lot of eating habit changes too!