The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

15 posts Page 1 of 1
Should I do 4:3?
23 Apr 2013, 06:36
I had great weight loss and waist reduction in my 1st week last week. I did Monday and Wednesday having 250 cal evening meals only. Then on Friday felt good so did another fast day but had a larger dinner - about 800 calories.

Question is I'm tempted to do 4:3 this week again but not sure if that too much like a crash diet? Whilst I'm a newbie and motivated and quickly approaching my pre-pregnancy weight I'm tempted to do a month of Monday, Wednesday & Friday (or if 5:2 I'll do mon and thurs).

Do people think this is too strict and setting myself up to fail or an opportunity to get a booster start to this WOE?
Re: Should I do 4:3?
23 Apr 2013, 06:42
If it works for you and you're happy doing it then I don't see why not, however our stats seem to show little difference in the weight loss results tour 4:3 and 5:2. See how it goes and remember this diet is flexible and should fit around your life - so you can swap to two days anytime you like, and even go back to three days if you want :)
23 Apr 2013, 09:15
I do 4:3 as often as possible. If I have social things on a Sunday I don't fast but if I'm having a lazy day with the dogs about the house I add it in. A lot of the research on the doco (human & rodent) seemed to be ADF rather than 5:2 and even tho stats here show little diff between 4:3 and 5:2, that's sort of comparing apples & oranges. You probably need to do weeks of each and check ur progress between those for YOU. I feel 4:3 (almost ADF) seems to offer both weight loss and health benefits. But I agree with Moogie - whatever feels good for you and what is sustainable for you is best.
23 Apr 2013, 09:32