The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

12 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi,
I am a newbie too - can I just clarify - can you really eat ANYTHING on the feast days? :bugeyes:
Yes. In sensible quantities, of course.
yes Claire - you can eat anything! BUT, and there's always a but, too much of anything and everything will not help weight loss. Work out your TDEE and eat within that amount. It can be anything you fancy. Nothing banned.
Forgot to say... Welcome!!! :-)
Yes you can eat anything.

Dr MM makes the point in the Horizon program that it is difficult to eat more than you have fasted because of habit and psychology.

I haven't calorie counted, and I do stop eating when I feel full. It is nice to have the sensation of fullness, I have missed it for many years...
I used the TDEE calculator, put in my weight and age and it gave me a TDEE of 1800 cals. I have not had that many calories in over 6 months! Isn't that too much on this 5:2 diet? I don't want to over eat and see no results.
@makinithap2014 if you feel the TDEE is too high try changing your activity level.

I don't know whether you have been gaining/losing weight over the last 6 months but I know I could easily pack away 1800 calories a day. If you don't already, try tracking your calories on something like MyFitnessPal, which will give you a better feel for what 1800 calories looks like
The key thing is that the info has been put in correctly. As Sian says, if you think it's too high then take another look at your activity level to make sure that's right. Don't forget that the 1800ish cals are for 5 days, the other 2 days are 500 or less.
1800 cals per day, ocrrect?
Sorry, yes makinithap. 1800 cal each day of the 5 days 500 on each of the other 2 days.
Thank you, any tips to send my way to succeed on this 5:2 plan?