The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

13 posts Page 1 of 1
Fasting with young children
06 May 2013, 00:57
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this fasting lifestyle so I'm hoping someone out there may have already experienced what I'm going through & can provide some advice.

I'm a stay at home mum to 2 kids aged 3 & 1 and I'm finding that I'm a very cranky hungry person! By mid afternoon all the kids have to do is look at me to get yelled at. My tolerance level dips EXTREMELY low. And then nighttime rolls around & I'm so tired that when the baby wakes for a breastfeed I grump again. She's only a tiny person asking for what she needs & my rational side knows that but my hungry tired side just wants her to shut up & go away so I can sleep. I don't want to quit fasting as I want to give it a real go but I can't carry on being this person to my kids. It's not fair on them or me.

I've been searching forums this morning & have found one good suggestion to try 3 meals instead of 2 on fast days but any other ideas welcome too.

I'm also wondering if I should be increasing my 500cals a bit to account for the breastfeeding as per normal eating recommendations. Anyone know?

Thanks in advance everyone & happy fasting
Re: Fasting with young children
06 May 2013, 01:53
I would definitely increase your calories if you're still Breastfeeding.
I got very cranky on fast days initially, not nearly as bad now after a few months, but if my children were still small, I think I would crack at them pretty much constantly when feeling hungry. Maybe postpone fasting until they are a bit older. They are little for such a short time, it's really worth enjoying it with them.
06 May 2013, 03:14