The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forums all the way from NZ. The 5:2 Diet is still relatively unknown here, but I think it'll take off!

I'm only on day 3 of this new eating regime, but so far, so good. Monday was my first fast, which was easier than I expected (so much so that I wonder if miscounted how many calories I ate?!).

I do think something's working though - even if it's only in my head. I feel lighter and as though I have more energy. I hope this continues!!

Tomorrow is my next fast day, which leads me to my question - do you have any tips or tricks for fasting at work?

I'm a writer and I find I need to eat regularly to keep my brain functioning well. I have a lot of deadlines tomorrow - do any of you know of low-calorie snacks that are good for brain function?

On Monday I ate 1/2 cup plain oats cooked in water with 1/4 cup berries, then lettuce greens, a carrot and a tbsp of hummus for lunch, then 2x chicken drumsticks for dinner.

My stomach felt fine but my brain felt 'foggy' during the day. I want to eat the right foods for maximum concentration tomorrow.

Any tips?!

Thanks so much!
Hi and welcome :)

Congratulations on finding and embarking on this wonderful way of life! Well done on your first few fasts and good on you for thinking ahead to plan your days like this.

In terms of work, I think you'll find that within a few weeks your concentration will be just fine whether you eat during the day or not, but until then make sure you drink plenty of tea or coffee to keep your brain going :) I'd be inclined to suggest something like a banana (I know, quite a high calorie fruit) as they're great for so many reasons.

I'm sure a few more medically/dietary minded folks here can give you some good tips for brain food though. Aren't fish and nuts supposed to be good? Maybe a tuna salad? And snack on some seeds/dried berries in the day?