The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

13 posts Page 1 of 1
Sorry for the second thread of the day... :-( I'm a very anxious newbie, lol.

Just wondering (might seem an obvious question, i'm sorry) what actually causes the weight loss on the 5:2 diet? (I haven't watched the documentary on it..) Is it the fact that throughout a week you are at a calorie deficit to what you are burning?

Also - are there any 'negatives' to this diet i.e restricting your body of vital nutrients on fast days?

I'm sorry for all the questions. x
Yes, a calorie deficit. For ~23 hours many people don't eat any calories and just have a 500 or 600 calorie dinner, then a normal breakfast the following day.

I doubt anyone gets 100% of everything they need every day so you'll have to cover your minerals & vitamins, essential fats and proteins etc over the whole week.
I found the book well worth reading and I try to optimise my overall diet with quality generally made from scratch meals. IMO 5:2 a good way to go, once you get a few fast days under your belt you will be feeling lots of positives
PhilT wrote: I doubt anyone gets 100% of everything they need every day so you'll have to cover your minerals & vitamins, essential fats and proteins etc over the whole week.

Thus eating fairly healthily on 'feast' days?
Well, we all need to eat healthy foods full of goodness to get the nutrients we need, but that doesn't mean you can't eat cake, biscuits, crisps, takeaways etc too. Just don't pig out on them on a daily basis. I certainly have chocolate, biscuits and/or cake most feed days - and probably a takeaway a week too. I'm no saint on my feed days, but that's not to say I don't try to ensure I get the goodness I need as well as the 'badness' ;)