The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

5 posts Page 1 of 1
Question about weight loss
17 Jul 2013, 11:22
Hi there,

I'm new to the 5:2 WOE and have a quick question that I'm sure the more experienced out there will be able to help me with.

To give a bit of background I lost about 3 stone some years ago on Weight Watchers but life and 2 pregnancies have slowly but that back on. Last week I stepped on the scales and discovered that I was about 7lbs from the heaviest I had ever been and I didn't want to go back there.

On Thursday I bought the book and read it and decided that Friday would be my first fast day and from then on I would fast on Monday and Thursday. This week was a good week to start as I usually do a week a month without alcohol and this tied in nicely.

I got up on Friday and weighed myself, deciding to make Friday my regular weigh in day. I was 15 stone 2 lbs. Horrifying. I fasted and it went well. As did my Monday fast. On my feast days I ate 2000 calories which I'm tracking with Myfitnesspal as I have a problem judging portion size. I've had no alcohol.

Now to the point, this morning I weighed myself just to see how things are going and I weigh 14 stone 9 lbs!!!!!!! That's a loss of 7 lbs and I still have tomorrows fast before my official weigh in on Friday morning.

Can this be right? I know the scales at the start were accurate as being over 15 stone was what made me start this in the first place. I really don't understand how I can have lost this much while have chips and ice-cream.

I'm afraid I'm doing something wrong and it's all going to pile on immediately. Presuming that tomorrows fast is fine again and I have no reason to doubt it I imagine I'll be down 8 lbs on Friday morning. Has anyone else experienced this?

Apologies for the long post but I don't know whether to be thrilled or terrified!
Re: Question about weight loss
17 Jul 2013, 11:43