The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi there,

I am very near my goal-just trying to lean out on the belly, something that I know will take a lot of time and patience. I am a teacher and by the end of the summer, a bit of psychological dread had begun to set in about fasting during the winter. I'm extremely sensitive to the cold and my body temperature really takes a hit on fast days. (I should mention at this point that I would have always done a total fast except for teas and coffees.) So, I decided not to be a martyr and to begin including 500 calorie meals on my fast days to see me through the hardest part of the winter months. I've been doing this since the beginning of September and it has been going well. I'm careful to keep within the 500 calories-I don't worry if I go over a little bit the odd time, just as long as it is exactly that-a little bit. However, in the last week or so I have noticed that I have actually gained some weight. Now I've read the research that says that there is almost no difference between the weight loss effects of a total fast and eating the 500 calories but in myself, I just don't feel like my body goes into full on fat burning mode when I eat the 500 calories. I know there may be some other variables as well but I'm just wondering how people feel about this? Particularly when they are coming close to their goal. I didn't start from a very overweight point, and it seems that the only fasting strategies that have ever worked for me are the most austere ones. I tried to do the 24 hour fast i.e. dinner to dinner but that stopped the weight loss altogether and now I find that eating the recommended 500 calories kicks my body out of ketosis. I went back to a total fast today and sure enough, the old smelly breath was back-telling me that I'm back in fat burning mode.