The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

10 posts Page 1 of 1
Walking gives me the munchies
26 Sep 2013, 20:48
It's my second week of 5:2
I haven't done any exercise due to a wacky couple of weeks.
I went for a slow walk this evening (100ish minutes) problem is, when I got back, I totally had the munchies. I started on celery as the least evil thing in the fridge, had 6squares of whole nut and half a very large pot of vanilla fat free yoghurt. I'd intended not to eat after dinner as it's fast day tomorrow. I'm a bit disappointed with myself :-(
Is it normal to get like that? I didn't before 5:2 after walking.
Cheers x
Hi Karen

Dont be disappointed, look forward to tommorrows fast, and let this evening go. 100 minutes of walking is great, enjoy that!

I have been fasting for 6 months now, and my experience is that is takes some time to get adjusted to this WOE. In the beginning, concentrate on the fast days. The feed days discipline will come later.

Wish you the best!

Regards from pben
That's really good advice from pben. Definitely just concentrate on the fast days for now because that alone will more than likely still give you a weekly deficit.
You will in time find you are making better choices on the feast days and just not wanting so much. Everyone said this to me at the beginning and I just smirked to myself thinking.. You don't know me :wink: but now it's starting to happen and I'm sure it will for you too.
Lil :heart:
Great advice, concentrate on fast days, and try not to think about watching what you eat on non fast days.

This does show how different we all are though - for me, walking is my main way of getting over a hunger wave on a fast day.

Were you actually hungry though? Or just in that restless snacking headspace?
Hi there the exercise will be good for you so put it behind you coz we're all human :heart: I'm lucky I suppose because my walking from day one as acted as a suppressant brilliant I can use all the help I can get.