The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

10 posts Page 1 of 1
weekend fasting
28 Jan 2014, 18:13
Hi all 5:2ers

I am a newbie. this is week 2 for me and 1st fast of week. I am finding it hard. My fast days are tues and thurs. But I found I was a little lost over the weekend and over eatung wrong things and I wonder if a weekend fast day is better I would like to hear others experience

Thanks x
Re: weekend fasting
28 Jan 2014, 18:25
Hi @nj1982 and welcome! You've come to the right place for encouragement and advice. What are you finding difficult? Are you drinking enough during your fast days and when do you eat? I have found that waiting until the evening is the best way and lots of peeps on here are the same. I often just have a ready meal, usually from M&S which are pretty tasty.

As for weekends, I have recently started the EOD diet (so I fast every other day) which means that I alternate between Saturdays and Sundays. So far I've found no problem with either day (although I miss my Sunday roast but then, hey, I'll have one next week!) in a way I'm lucky because I don't go out so am not tempted unduly by cake shops etc. it must be hard when you're working. When you're on a fast day, just remind yourself that you can eat what you want tomorrow!

Hope this helps. Don't give up, you'll soon get into the swing of it.

Bean :geek:
28 Jan 2014, 18:27
Welcome nj1982.
I have been doing 5:2 since last August and have lost about 20 lbs (well, that was before gaining 5 on a recent cruise but that's another story..) I have been doing Sun and Wed fasts since the very beginning and find it works well for me. Especially if you socialize on Fri and/or Sat. I live alone and don't usually have any Sunday dinner etc. commitments to interfere with my fasts. Give it a try. I know eating (and maybe drinking) on the weekends can get excessive, especially if you do it all 3 days.