The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

10 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all!!

Im new on this board, although I have been reading the discussions for a while as im now on to my 3rd week of the fast diet.

My one main problem is water intake. To be honest I dont really like the taste of it, so normally either stick to diet fizzy drinks or adding sugar free squash. I know both of these contain sweeteners which arent much different from regular sugar. Any tips to make it taste better without the sweeteners?

I work in a lab so cant have water regularly so find it difficult to drink lots on fast days!

Thanks in advance,
Kim :)
Hi Kim - I also hated the taste of water when I started 5:2 in August - very seldom drank it, only liked to drink squash! After my first fast day I came to like the taste of water and I've gone right off the squash! You may find the same thing happens to you if you make yourself drink it for a day!

Otheriwse, I've heard some people use a few drops of lemon juice in their water, or a slice of cucumber! Or for low cal hot drinks to fill up on you could try marmite, bovril, half a stock cube etc - or fruit teas which are mostly only about a calorie.
Thanks for the reply....may definitely try the lemon juice, and will 'force' myself to drink just water on non fast days to get used to it.

This forum has been a great help and motivation so far!! :)
I always water orange juice down anyway, it's better than drinking it concentrated.

I think water drinking is an acquired taste.
It definitely is an acquired taste!!

Well went to sainsburys tonight (quite difficult on a fast day, especially with easter eggs about!!) and got myself a filter water bottle, lemon and limes which ive cut in to slices to put in the freezer ready for some tasty 'ice cubes'. Fingers crossed this may help!