The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

14 posts Page 1 of 1
New girl wonders what to eat...
05 May 2013, 17:03
Hello,

I'm new to this and was hoping for some help from some veteran fasters. Please can you advise me what foods you eat on a fast day. I will start my first fast tomorrow and have already planned my food. I was wondering which foods help you to get through the day so I can adjust my next fast. Also how do you prefer to do the two days, separately or consecutively?

Thanks guys :grin:
Hi and welcome to the forums!

I don't eat until dinner time, so I can just have a lovely dinner with my 500 calories. I also find that if I eat breakfast, I'm just hungrier all day long.

For 500 calories, you can have a really generous salad with a lovely piece of grilled meat/fish, or a big hearty veggie curry, or my a big dish of black beans and rice with chicken sausage in it.

There are tons of recipes in the forums to give you ideas.

In the winter, I really liked to cook a big pot of something on Sunday night, so that on fast days (Monday and Wednesday) I could just reheat dinner for the two of us. It can be hard to cook something that needs to stew or simmer for a few hours while you are hungry!

Now that summer's coming, we're definitely doing more salads. Since it's only two nights a week, it seems like a fairly good plan. Just be careful of what you put in (cheese, croutons and starchy things can really add up)