The FastDay Forum

5:2 Diet 'Rules' & Variations

13 posts Page 1 of 1
I have a question!

WHAT, IF ANY, ARE THE DOWNSIDES OF 2 CONSECUTIVE DAYS OF FASTING?

I have no real choice this week, unless I visit my favourite cousin and refuse to eat all the lovely food she's cooked for me (am disinclined to do this). I fasted yesterday and have had nothing to eat yet today.

Will power will be fine today - I can tell I'm in the right place mentally, but I am very worried about lowering my metabolism and doing my longterm weight loss more harm than good. I'd hate to win a short term drop in weight only to slow my metabolism and put more weight on as a result.

I exercised yesterday, but was going to go easy on myself today.

Any info / experiences of consecutive day fasting VERY gratefully received.

xx
I've never tried it- my will power would never last, but other people do and I don't think it has any effect on your metabolism- but I'm no expert
One of the variants of the 5:2 does consecutive days, so don't think it'll have a negative impact long term doing it every now and then. If you reckon you can do it, go for it. And even if you wind up going a bit over, it'll still be a low cal day, so you can enjoy your visit. IMHO it's not worth refusing hospitality, even if it means just one fast in a week.
Hourglass it is doable but quite hard.

I wouldn't worry about lowering your metabolism by doing 2 consecutive fasts though, (there are threads on here that debunk the "starvation mode" idea).

I don't know what your weight loss target is, but based on your BMI, you are a mere slip of a thing, so you could just do 6:1 this week and try eating in an 8 hour window on the other days (there is a long thread about 16:8 if you haven't already found it)

Good luck with what you decide to do, but the beauty of this WOE is you can adapt it to fit your life :clover: