The FastDay Forum

Getting Sweaty! Exercise & Fitness

14 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi all -

I'm new to the 5:2 program, on my second week.

First the vitals: 44 yo male, 6'0". Weight 2 weeks ago was 155-156, week today was 154.

The background: I exercise regularly. During the summer I bike a lot - both road and mountain. I try to get out at least 4 times per week, sometimes if schedule allows I go 6-7 days per week. At minimum they are 90 minute to 2 hours rides 25 to 40 mile road rides, 10-20 mile mountain bike rides. Weekends I'll go for several hours. Starting soon, I'll be mountain bike racing 1 night a week, and doing 50 mile + rides on weekends. About 1 out of 3 weekends will be road rides between 75 - 100 miles, and a few 50+ mile mountain bike races.

The issue: This past Sunday I did a 100 mile ride. I fueled reasonably well during the ride, and very well (burger and fries) afterwards. Monday was a fast day, about 600 calories. It was difficult, to the point where I could not concentrate at work. Mental processes were very clouded.

The problem: I'm not sure how I can incorporate fast days into this schedule. On rides longer than 60 minutes, I have to fuel, otherwise my performance fades and I "hit the wall". I also do a recovery regimen of a 3:1 carb:protein after strenuous exercise, which I have found helps me a lot with muscle recovery. So fasting on days of long rides is really out of the question. But fasting on days after long rides also seems very difficult, and runs counter to research I've seen about how to recover after strenuous exercise.

The question: Is there any advice on how I can work the 5:2 fast diet into a strenuous exercise program, where I really don't want to sacrifice my training and racing performance?
Hi steyermark and welcome! :)

Not sure I can answer your more technical questions, but wanted to say Hi anyway.