The FastDay Forum

The Foodies Corner

54 posts Page 1 of 4
One common food item which is very popular on this forum (and that has even been promoted on one of my own posts) is coconut oil, and the reason why it is so popular (and that is not just in this forum, or indeed with the 5:2 diet community in general) is because of various health benefits which that is perceived to bring.

However, I have just found this article which claims that there is actually no scientific evidence to support the idea that these health benefits actually exist. I was therefore wondering what you all think about that article.

I have never used coconut oil before, and it's not something that I have been able to find very easily in my local supermarket. My own preference has therefore been to use olive oil which is considered (according to that article at least) to be healthier as it contains mostly unsaturated fats, whereas coconut oil contains most saturated fat which is said to be bad for you. Furthermore, olive oil is much more readily available at my local supermarket.

However, a lot of the advice that I have received so far on this forum has gone against the grain of that of the so-called health 'experts' and yet, I have found that following that advice which has been given to me on this forum has worked very well for me until now. I therefore wouldn't be surprised if taking coconut oil fell into that category, and that is why it will be interesting to hear people's views on that.
Hi John,