The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

7 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi everyone I'm new to the 5:2 ! I had my first fast day Tuesday and my second did the week is tomorrow!

I'm going out for dinner tonight and although I'm doing this for health I have a stone I want to shift! I'm fasting tomorrow but don't want to over do it out for a meal tonight. Is it easier to fast when you eat a bigger meal the night before? Or should I try to stick light still?

Thanks guys!!! Natalie :geek:
Hello @Tillykd and welcome.
Good luck with your new way of eating. Well done on your first successful fast.
This way of eating is very individual and by trial and error we find a way that works for us. Have a look at the huge variety of way discussed on the forum!
The original 5:2 is to have two 500 cal fasts and eat within your TDEE on other days. This would suggest eatingin moderation at your meal out tonight, but don't deprive yourself :bugeyes: If we are hard and set ourselves unrealistic unachievable goals we will fail.
If we are realistic we wil succeed. :victory:
Do enjoy your meal tonight and let us know how you get on.
I was fairly good! According to MFP I stayed within 2000 cal for the day and burnt 300 running. I'm on a fast today so won't eat my 500 cal till 8 tonight. I don't feel hungry yet but dizzy and a headache setting in! Hoping to get out the house in the fresh air and feel better. Curse my broken arm stopping me from working!!
Hi and welcome!!