The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

5 posts Page 1 of 1
new to 5:2
18 Oct 2017, 02:02
hi!
i'm a newbie in the US and looking forward to starting. my first fast day this week is going to be on Thursday. I'm aiming for Mondays & Thursdays. Any advice or tips for someone starting out?
I have about 8-10 pounds to lose.

Thanks
mm
Re: new to 5:2
18 Oct 2017, 21:44
Hi and welcome!

Good luck with your first fast. The only advice I really have to give is that there are a lot of different ways of fasting and you'll have to find what works best for you. Some people try to fast all day and eat all 500 calories for dinner. Some people will break the calories up into 2 or 3 meals throughout the day. And some people, like myself, do eating windows or 16:8. This means that I eat all my meals between the hours of 12 and 8 PM and fast from 8 PM to 12 PM the next day, but I do this almost every day. You should also try not to overdue it on your non-fast days.

Unfortunately the forum has gotten slow lately, but everyone here is really nice and there's a lot of information here. There is usually a fasting thread every day, so you can look for that tomorrow!
18 Oct 2017, 21:47
Welcome @moderatemeals!