The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

5 posts Page 1 of 1
My first time here!
17 Jun 2013, 16:42
Just wanted to say HI and introduce myself. I've been doing 5:2 for about 2 months and it's going well. My motives for doing it are slightly different to many of you (from what I can tell) because I already lost a lot of weight (about 60 pounds) and am at my ideal weight now. I decided to do 5:2 to maintain my weight and also to get the other health benefits associated with the diet.
I'm fasting today and already looking forward to tomorrow:)
Today my regime consisted of the following:
Breakfast: Whole grapefruit segmented with 30g of blueberries and 2 teaspoons of 0%fat yoghurt (105 cals)
Lunch: 2 Ryevita with half tub low fat cottage cheese topped with sliced cucumber (150 cals)
Dinner: 1 small fillet of baked salmon, steamed green beans (generous portion) and a mixed salad of rocket, celery, cucumber, 4 cherry tomatoes and 2 spring onions with a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil to dress it (320 cals)
Total 575 cals.
What do you people think of my menu today?
Re: My first time here!
17 Jun 2013, 17:07
Hi Brendan & welcome :D
Sounds like a tasty fast day indeed!
Personally I'd steer clear of the low fat products, even on a fast day I'd rather have a smaller amount of the full fat (the stuff they put in the low fat isn't very good for us).