The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

11 posts Page 1 of 1
Yet Another Newbie
27 Jan 2015, 18:55
Hello All,

Another Newbie here. Decided that I will give intermittent fasting a go - never tried it before. Think I'm going to go down the route of the 800 calorie fasting day rather than 500 as per the Horizons programme. After doing lots of reading (I'm hypothyroid) apparently its not good to fast on 500 calories due to the lack of good fats. So with the help of the new book, 800 Calorie fasting - I'm going to give it a try.

Any hints and tips though would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
x
Re: Yet Another Newbie
27 Jan 2015, 19:22
Hi and Welcome G2G!

I think you'll find a number of us on this forum with thyroid issues. I was Hyperthyroid for the last two years and have just received radioactive iodine to treat this condition. After this, I will likely go to hyPOthyroid.

While the literature I have reviewed does indeed indicate that fasting in excess of 24 hours can be harmful if you are hypothyroid, I'm not sure that I've read anything like what you're saying. From what our resident geeks have said reading medical studies, they recommend 12-16 hour fasts for hypothyroid people if they are having trouble with 5:2.

There are some threads on hypothyroid, I will try to dig them out for you.