The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

17 posts Page 1 of 2
Trust Me I'm a Doctor 3
27 Oct 2013, 11:26
Nice to see that initial scientific data is showing that oats are good for gut bacteria. I have them for breakfast every morning (when not fasting) and if I do a 16:8, I love them so much, I'll have them for "lunch"....

Hopefully my gut appreciates them....
Re: Trust Me I'm a Doctor 3
27 Oct 2013, 12:09
Mmm i am a fan too Domane
Cheap,cheerful,filling,healthy,taste good..whats not to like :)
27 Oct 2013, 15:11
"Good" carbs too!!! ;)
28 Oct 2013, 16:04
A good bowl of porridge made with water no sugar but loads of strawberries ( even the winter ones) and blueberries, canny whack it. I try 16/8 nowadays but it makes a scrummy warming lunch in the cold winter days. :wink: :grin:
28 Oct 2013, 16:55
Agree there Nessie - been part of my 5:2 menu for months, I think it was after I started on the porridge for 'lunch' (having given up breakfast 'a la ballerina' :cool: ) that I really began to lose weight, although slowly. It also plugs that hunger gap nicely until you can have your evening calories :victory: :like:
28 Oct 2013, 17:12
I watched this, and was surprised by quite how much porridge he ate each day. I can'tremember the amount, but thought it was around 4 or 5 times what I'd consider a "normal" portion?
28 Oct 2013, 18:29
Yes he ate 100g!!!! I have 50g and I thought THAT was a lot!!!
28 Oct 2013, 19:38
Blimey! I just have the graze breakfast porridge, 145 - 176 cals max!
28 Oct 2013, 21:15
Domane wrote: Yes he ate 100g!!!! I have 50g and I thought THAT was a lot!!!

I know! I have 35 g which is 136 cals 23.9 g of carb

I was cheered coz when i saw him have 100 grams, i thought i had miscalculated

Alas no..100 g oats is 368 cals 62g carb :confused:
28 Oct 2013, 21:20
Being a Scottish girl I absolutely adore porridge, always have, always will. Nothing better on a winter morning/afternoon/evening than a big steaming hot bowl of porridge!
28 Oct 2013, 21:26