The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

8 posts Page 1 of 1
Aussienewbie
17 Sep 2017, 04:23
Hi

I am new to the forum and on my first fast day. I have tried so many other diets but not much weight shifts and what does shift goes back on. This is my first time on 5:2 and am hoping it will work for me. However to be honest I am pretty hungry by now ( mid afternoon) despite having a few berries for brekkie and cup of tomato soup(111 cals) and small apple for lunch. Does the type of food you chose affect your hunger pangs ? For instance is it better to use the calories to eat protein mainly?

thanks

Barb
Re: Aussienewbie
17 Sep 2017, 12:47
Welcome barb/@bmoles!!

Yes, absolutely your food choices and timing affect hunger.

Most of us actually just don't eat until dinner. We find breakfast is really easy to skip (I have two espressos with 1/2 tablespoon cream in each, then I'm on to black tea). I find that I might get a "oh, I am a bit hungry" but that goes away after 10 minutes and a glass of water or cup of tea. It tends to be in little waves, not a constant gnawing. Some eat lunch, but many don't, as we generally find that eating makes hunger harder to manage. When I'm doing proper fast days, I usually have a cup or two of warm broth/bouillon in the afternoon, when I need to manage my hunger. So admittedly, by 6pm/1800 I'm bordering on hangry, but it's managable.