The FastDay Forum

Introduce Yourself!

Our Frequently Asked Questions topic will answer many of your fasting & weight loss questions!

If you're new and have a question or need some advice, please give us as much information as you can about your situation in order for us to be able to help you as best we can. For example, it's helpful to know your BMI/weight, how much you want to lose, any medical conditions which might affect your weight and (if you've started fasting already) how you do your fasts in terms of splitting up your calories, what you eat etc. Thanks!

15 posts Page 1 of 1
Morning another newbie
06 Aug 2013, 08:40
Morning all,

I have been reading the forum for about a week, and thought I would introduce myself.

I am a 33 year old mother of two lovely boys, have a fiance of 15 years ( we might get round to getting married...one day lol) and I work as a T/A in a primary school. I have struggled with my weight since the birth of my first son 14 years ago, ranging form 9st 4lb at my lightest and a size ten, to my current weight of 14st 3lb and a size 16/18!

I have tried everything weight watchers, slimming world, Cambridge diet, slimming pills ( prescription and non prescription) calorie counting, excessive exercise and most recently the Harcombe diet. All to no avail, I would loose a very small amount very slowly say 8-10 lbs then put it all back on, plus more! With the exception of the prescription slimming pills, I lost 3 stone in about 2 months, never a good idea! As soon as I stopped taking them the weight and more piled back on.

Anyway I heard about 5:2 from a few friends and it sounded horrendous, fasting, how on earth can anyone manage that? Another step on the scales and another half a stone on I decided to read more about 5:2. The more I read, the more interesting it sounded, not least because of the health benefits.