The FastDay Forum

Progress Diaries & Journals

Please just one thread per member here, which you can keep updated with your progress!
If you want to celebrate reaching a goal, or commiserate over a less productive week please use the 'Delighted or Disappointed?' forum instead.

11 posts Page 1 of 1
Is this normal?
26 Apr 2013, 07:42
My first weigh in after 2nd fast day I had lost 5lbs. Then 3 days later I had put on 2lbs. This week I did 3 fast days and when I weighed myself I had lost 2lbs and an inch on my waist. So my next fast day is Monday. I am planning on weighing myself on Monday after 3 normal days. My worry is that I will have put 2lbs back on. Has anyone here found that this happens?
Re: Is this normal?
26 Apr 2013, 07:51
I'm not an expert but I think that after a fast day you will have lost water and the actual weight of food in your body as well as fat, so when you start eating normally on a feast day you will put on weight in terms of water plus the weight of the food you have eaten, which accounts for the differences. I only weigh myself once a week as otherwise I would go crazy with the ups and downs (which can happen regardless) from one day to the next, what counts is the overall downward trend over time.
26 Apr 2013, 08:03
Take a look at my progress chart. Week 1 lost 5lb, week 2 put on 2lb, week 3 lost 2lb. Sound familiar? Loss to date 20lb. Don't worry too much. There is a lot of adjusting going on. I'd say it takes 4-6 weeks to really get into it. The fast days do get easier but watch the feed days as it is easy to eat too much.
26 Apr 2013, 08:05
Oh yes!!!!! Seems to be quite common from what I've glimpsed in the forums. I've just weighed myself today fully expecting to have lost a few pounds as I've been really good this week ( did have a blip last Sunday but got back on track again!) to find I was the same as last week...duh!!