The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

14 posts Page 1 of 1
16:8
02 Sep 2013, 21:40
I'm new to this (two weeks in) and learning a lot from this forum. I get 5:2, 4:3, 6:1 but what is 16:8?
Re: 16:8
02 Sep 2013, 22:39
Hi Wmr309 and welcome!

16:8 is hours in the day - 16 hours fasting only, and then eating only during an 8 hour window.
02 Sep 2013, 22:49
I need more of a door, rather than a window. Perhaps a trough. ;)
02 Sep 2013, 23:00
But you can cheat by eating/drinking up to 40 calories outside the 8 hours window. 16:8 ROCKS!!!
02 Sep 2013, 23:11
I may try 16:8 a little further down the road. I've already deviated to consuming only water on the two fasting days. I'm curious to see if there are any additional benefits.

I remember reading a post where a bloke wrote to the researchers who were featured in Dr. Mosley's Horizon show. The neurologist recommended a longer stretch between any caloric intake. So far, it's no more difficult than consuming 500-600 kcals. In fact, not having to think about food does help a bit.
03 Sep 2013, 17:34
Hi Wmr309,

Welcome to the forum. If you go to, the 'Home' page, scrolll down to the bottom, on the right hand side you will find a box named 'Most Viewed Topics' second one down is '5:2 + 8 hour diet + 16/8' and there you will find a wealth of information about 16/8, so, fill your boots and good luck, oh, and if you are bored, the third item in that box is about life in France as you never knew it :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ballerina x :heart:
03 Sep 2013, 18:53
TML13 wrote: But you can cheat by eating/drinking up to 40 calories outside the 8 hours window. 16:8 ROCKS!!!

LOL! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: the newly converted are always the most evangelical, wouldn't you agree @Ballerina? :razz: :razz: :razz: !!!!!!!!!!

But seriously, so pleased you have come round to 16:8 @TML :cool: :cool: :cool: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
03 Sep 2013, 19:00
Seconded :grin: :lol: :grin:

04 Sep 2013, 06:30