The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

17 posts Page 1 of 2
First fast-day today, so blood sugar levels low and really annoying blurred vision. I understand that it'll settle down but nevertheless - a darn nuisance. Can't even see if I'm spolling the wrods in this host corrictly...
Hi Ianfreeman, I'm no expert, but are you eating enough protein to keep your blood sugar more stable? I know my husband really needs protein or else he gets unsteady. Hopefully one of the nerdy types or Miffy will comment. Good luck. :smile: :smile:
Oh dear, that doesn't sound good!
But on the plus side, you managed your first day! If I were you I'd go to bed for the lie down now! :bugeyes:
Tis yur fingers that do the speln here, not yur eyes.

Check this post:

5-2-diet-chat-f6/topic1655.html

Or try a search here for "blurred vision" to see 9 other posts on the subject.

HTH
Ok, I think if you're getting low blood sugar, fasting may not be for you! The only time I got low blood sugar problems from not eating was when my thyroid had gone bad (really bad!).

Have you had your labs checked with your primary care provider? You should tell them about this and have them check your sugars and thyroid.

I would not write this off as a "side effect" -- it's not how healthy people react to fasting for a few hours!!!
Tracieknits wrote: I would not write this off as a "side effect" -- it's not how healthy people react to fasting for a few hours!!!

I agree. It's a good idea to come on here and ask about side effects. It worries me sometimes that folk will assume that any symptom they get is only due to 5:2. You can have something going wrong independantly. Take care!
What is interesting here is that I suffered blurred vision episodes prior to starting 5:2. Since I starting fasting I have not has one episode. Go figure.