The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

19 posts Page 1 of 2
Hi all, I'm new to this and only did my first fast yesterday. I tried fasting Thursday but failed by mid-afternoon, I was so hungry from having a yogurt in the morning and then a green salad for lunch that I just caved by 2:30. Anyway I completed a fast day yesterday and I'm very pleased with myself. I had 545 calories which I think is okay for my first time.
What I would like to know is, do you count calories on your non-fast days? I eat a healthy diet anyways, I try to stay away from processed foods, eat lots of salads and I cook from scratch but have a problem with portion control and my sweet tooth :( The funny thing is, after feeling so hungry yesterday and going to bed hungry, I don't feel very hungry today at all. Today I had 2 toast for breakfast and a small lunch. I wonder if it's because on a fast day you feel so hungry that on a non-fast day feeling peckish doesn't even register, if you know what I mean. So, do you count on non-fast days? :?:
It will be interesting to see who does and who doesn't

Dee x
Welcome to the forum, first and foremost

To answer your question, no you shouldn't count your calories on non fast days. Maybe you can weight the food you take at the beginning (for exemple not to exceed 100g) to give you an idea of what you really eat but I wouldn't count the calories

I don't.
Welcome to the forum Dee! In the beginning I calorie counted just so I could see and feel what is a 'normal' portion. Now, I don't calorie count anyday as I feel I have a pretty good idea of what I can have on both fast days and normal days. I also only have 1 meal on fast days, as eating any earlier would trigger my hunger. :)