The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

23 posts Page 1 of 2
I am only into this for 6 fasts so far, but so far I have just kept the fast days repetitively simple, as in yogurt, salad with some protein, apple. I do see many interesting recipes, but it almost seems so much effort for 1 meal for 1 person for 1 day.

What do you find works better or is easier or more satisfying, just getting thru the day simply, or expending the effort, to create something interesting?

Just curious@
I just don't eat. For those that do, I suggest eating what you really like/want to eat - just 500 cal. worth.
Ya but what I like/want had an effort factor to it. If I had a full time chef there would be no question ;-)

I'm wondering if it's worth the effort to create, just stay simple

Simcoeluv? You dont eat anything on your fast days? Do you have protein drinks, or no caloric intake at all?
I like cooking and I'm a creative cook so it would be hard to stop that twice a week. I keep it simple yet not repetitive or boring.
Now that it's pretty hot I mainly eat salads or vegetable dishes but I also enjoy pasta dishes with slim noodles instead of regular pasta.
Monday's I usually have liquids only - black coffee, herbal teas and water. Thursdays were the same liquids and then soup and toast for dinner. I'm moving on to maintenance now but Monday's will stay the same, not sure what I will do on Thursday's yet.
All of the above here. :oops: Specifically, "Ping" meals.

I don't mean to sound sanctimonious but previously I have never really used ready meals but I have found it really helps having it all measured out and minutes later - ta-dah! No sneaky tasting/slice of cheese whilst cooking/guessing what makes a portion etc. Hubby and I have tried a few different ones and enjoy with a large salad or veg. We only eat an evening meal on fast days bar maybe a cup of Bovril earlier sometimes.