The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

11 posts Page 1 of 1
fasting and teaching?
11 Dec 2014, 17:50
Hello,
I am new to 5:2--this is my 4th fasting day today. In a month I will be teaching college chemistry Monday thru Friday, so if I stick with 5:2, I will end up giving lectures two days a week while I am fasting (probably Mondays & Thursdays). I am concerned that I won't have the energy or mental acuity I need to pull off a good lecture. Any advice?
Re: fasting and teaching?
11 Dec 2014, 19:30
Welcome! I'm not a teacher but I am studying chemistry at the moment and need to feel satiated in order to think!
If you can't change your fast days, then you need to plan. Not everyone's thing but I like to eat alot of fat on fast days. It keeps me feeling full and the hunger pangs at bay. Bulletproof coffee is my choice. I can go all day on that. Others drink bouillon or broth. Salt is important when you are fasting and I always have a glass of water with some salt in first thing in the morning or if I'm feeling like I need food.

Good luck!
11 Dec 2014, 21:36
I'm also studying, and find that in the morning, I'm absolutely fine. Some afternoons though (not all, just some) my brain seems to go on holiday. Maybe try having most of your calories at lunchtime, something like a soup which you can pack with veggies, to get you through the afternoon.
11 Dec 2014, 22:02