The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

12 posts Page 1 of 1
Spagetti Squash
05 Nov 2013, 17:23
I'm quite new to cooking Squashes, OH doesn't like them so I've never really experimented. I have seen (on the interweb!) pictures of Spagetti Squash and wondered if anyone had any tips for cooking them as they look like a good fast day alternative to Zero Noodles? :starving:
Re: Spagetti Squash
05 Nov 2013, 17:32
Here you go Sian http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipe-colle ... index.html
I have only really eaten them raw in salads, so don't really have a favourite to recommend.... some of these look quite nice though.
05 Nov 2013, 17:57
Thanks, I thought all those squash type things had to be cooked.
05 Nov 2013, 18:07
Oh Sian, funny you should mention this.... I have today just experimented with my first PUMPKIN! So many times in the past, I've dug out the seeds and string, carved a face and insert a tea light but this time I fancied COOKING one! I ran out of time but I did manage to make a low carb (paleo) ground almond/pumpkin and egg loaf, roasted the seeds and puree'd the rest which I will freeze into small portions for future use!

I'm ashamed to admit that I only started using butternut squashes for the first time this year too....

I don't think I can source a spaghetti squash or I'd deffo try those too...
05 Nov 2013, 18:25
Hi Sian, funnily enough I just bought 3 spaghetti squashes!

I halve them, then either microwave them or roast the halves in the oven until tender. Obviously first scrape out the seeds and stuff (roast the seeds - delicious).

After it's cooled a bit you can then just use a fork to scrape out the flesh and it comes away from the skin in strands. I use it very often as a spaghetti substitute, under a portion of bolognese or chilli, just salted a tad. Very low cal, low carb and so good for you!