The FastDay Forum

General 5:2 and Fasting Chat

9 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi there

I'm a newbie to 5:2 and it's working great for me so far. Apologies if these questions have been asked before but I am a tad confused.

1. if my TDEE is 2000 can I net off additional calories consumed with exercise? So if I do exercise that burns 400 cal can I eat another 400 cal theoretically and still be on track? I'm actually not going to do that as it is a slippery slope for me, will be sticking to TDEE of 2000 and hoping I reap some benefits.. just curious really

2. As a Fitbit addict I was wondering how accurate people think the Fitbit calories burned calculation is. I tend to be quite conservative regardless but again just curious

thanks!
To me the whole point of exercising is that you create additional calorie deficit by putting in an extra effort. Therefore I wouldn't account for burnt calories in my daily TDEE.

I have no idea about the Fitbit though.
I don't think you're meant to do that in this way of eating - I'm no expert but I've seen other threads where people have said just to stick to the TDEE regardless of exercise cals. Seems simpler to me :-)
When you put your information into the calculator it asks you what your activity level is. So the exercise is already calculated in to the formula. So the short answer is no. Or should I say, its up to you, but it will slow down the weight loss you are enjoying at the moment.
I agree with what's been said. It's nice to see how many extra cals you are burning, but I still stick to my TDEE, not adding extra because of exercise as like Julie says it's been done in the tracker already.